The Mockingbird

John Brattain

with 3 comments

snapshot_20080730_42

I first encountered John Brattain when this blog was mostly railing at real sports journalists instead of all pitch f/x all the time, and I wrote a couple of scathing articles about his bunt fetish. To my incredible surprise and terrible embarrassment, he came onto the site and responded in detail with good humour and great candour.

He then went on to enact revenge for my sabrmetric abuse of him by constantly plugging this blog at The Hardball Times, even getting them to publish an article of mine. While we were both writing for Baseball Daily Digest, he would email me when one of his particularly controversial articles was coming out with the subject: “Give me hell!”, gleefully encouraging me to give it the once over. He took any kind of criticism as a learning experience and an opportunity for further discussion, and I learnt a lot from that.

So, here we go for old times sake: John, you wrote the longest, most rambling baseball articles I have ever read, and I have no idea how the Princess Bride managed to make its way into more than half of them. I rarely agreed with you, but you were funny as hell and I truly enjoyed our endless back and forths about baseball and everything else. A good man, a great fan, gone far too young.

Best Regards

Jonathan Hale

Edit: There’s a great and suitably endless comment section at Baseball Think Factory full of crass jokes in his memory (at his request).

Written by halejon

March 24, 2009 at 11:26 pm

Posted in Seriousness

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very well put Jon. We feel the same as you…whenever we butted heads with him, he had an incredible capacity to take the edge off with his humour, and by not taking himself so seriously.

    He was a gem.

    Tao of Stieb

    March 25, 2009 at 2:04 pm

  2. Thanks for this halejon… thanks for the pitch f/x and tonight (and last) I’m toasting my memory of absent friends be they face to face fellows or people I’ve come to care for via the magic of the ARPAnet.

    Christopher Taylor

    March 26, 2009 at 11:14 pm

  3. Cheers to that! I’m with yah…

    halejon

    March 26, 2009 at 11:23 pm


Leave a comment

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb