The Mockingbird

Andy Pettite is Losing his Mind

with 7 comments

(Not without reason)

hill_scream_hor.jpg

Exhibit A

“I didn’t feel like I hesitated for that long for a guy to be able to steal home on me,” Pettitte said. “Unless I’m losing my mind, I thought the umpire threw his hands up in the air, too. I’m not real sure.

That was your catcher, Andy. But you’re not alone- my behaviour after that play would have been enough to have me checked in to any one of a number of institutions with nice padded walls and bars on the windows.

Exhibit B

Pettitte said he hesitated for a split second because he thought the umpire had called a balk.

No, he didn’t. If you look at the replay (it’s coming…@#$@# Tivo downloads like molassses), he looks over to first, and then obviously hears Posada or sees Phelps because he steps off before he looks back to the plate and throws home.

Exhibit C

“I didn’t feel like I hesitated for that long for a guy to be able to steal home on me,” Pettitte said. “He must have been a way off third base.

Strike 3…he wasn’t really that far off (and was pretty nonchalant about the whole thing). It happened because Butterfield told the entire team before the game that you were subsceptible to the steal of home. I’ll bet you’re the only one in the league that doesn’t know you look over at first too long.

Q: Was that humiliating theft of a win more of a thrill than Vernon pounding one into the seats to win it off Rivera last year?

Written by halejon

May 30, 2007 at 5:41 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One of the most exciting plays in baseball.

    You all remember the ending to the Sandlot!

    hroman

    May 30, 2007 at 12:55 pm

  2. I totally agree, to most exciting plays in baseball – the triple, stealing home.

    I’ll also throw in an honourable mention to the walk-off hr.

    Apparently the Jays just love to stealing home against the yanks:

    http://toronto.bluejays.mlb.com/news/gameday_recap.jsp?ymd=20050806&content_id=1160053&vkey=recap&fext=.jsp&c_id=tor

    http://www.retrosheet.org/boxesetc/2001/B04170TOR2001.htm

    I totally remember both of them. I hope the video is still working on the first one – that was the day Giambi became ‘DH forever’. Such a terrible throw.

    Dan

    May 30, 2007 at 2:34 pm

  3. I don’t remember Mondesi’s…I guess the rook on the mound didn’t have his head in the game?

    Yep, the video is working, and Giambi looks ridiculous. He was injured then, right? It looks like he wouldn’t have made that throw one out of a thousand the way his arm flops out.

    halejon

    May 30, 2007 at 4:40 pm

  4. Mondesi’s was pretty sweet, although it wasn’t late in the game.

    hroman

    May 30, 2007 at 5:20 pm

  5. Too many steroids and doping products.

    Does Pettite drunk drive like Tony LaRussa and Josh Hancock?

    A typical commercial pharma doping machine.

    Curt Schilling

    May 30, 2007 at 6:29 pm

  6. Howie Clark is in the line-up tonight!

    Chris

    May 30, 2007 at 11:54 pm

  7. I was all excited until he swung at a 2-0 ball with the bases loaded and then let A-Rod call him off…

    halejon

    May 31, 2007 at 7:35 am


Leave a comment

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb