The Mockingbird

Please Stand By

with 3 comments

We are having some rather serious technical difficulties here. Does anyone have a computer science degree that is better than my computer science degree? Because the endless cycle of rebuild-million-pitch-database/watch computer explode in flames/get new computer is what has lead to my retirement, which will probably last just as long as Rampage Jackson’s.

In the meantime, listen to this amazing prediction by Mike Blowers. And he doesn’t even try to call every single @$#@!! pitch like Rance Mulliniks – or say absurdities on air like Wakefield’s knuckler must be off because it’s not up in the mid-70’s as usual.

ETA: Geez…poke my head up for one second and the request line starts ringing: the pitch that Ichiro was thrown out for arguing last Saturday was almost exactly a quarter of an inch off the plate, and pretty much right at the belt. That’s not a textbook strike, but right at the belt is more than often than not called one.

Written by halejon

September 29, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Posted in Seriousness

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have a newer degree (as of the end of August), so is that better? What’s been the problem exactly?

    jw

    September 30, 2009 at 2:34 pm

  2. It’s gotta be better than mine…I learned nothing but Java. Still completely confused as to how they let me walk out the door with a couple of circuitry classes and stats and call it a “major”.

    The real problem is I can’t use my mac to parse the SLQ database because there’s a bug in the MYSQL::DBD package and it hasn’t worked for YEARS. So I’m on a crappy collection of PC’s that have given me a crappy collection of total system failures.

    halejon

    October 8, 2009 at 5:07 pm

  3. Hey Jon, I am on a mac also and I had a similar problem with you. I even set up a tuturiol over at Beyond the Boxscore:

    http://www.beyondtheboxscore.com/2009/8/19/994666/saberizing-a-mac-4-pitch-f-x

    Thanks to a helpful email from a BtB about a month later, I was able to fix the bug with DBD.

    Try following the directions in this comment:

    http://www.beyondtheboxscore.com/2009/8/19/994666/saberizing-a-mac-4-pitch-f-x#21001773

    And tell me if you have any problems, and what happens when you run the parse script through terminal. I should be able to help you.

    Nick Steiner

    October 17, 2009 at 12:49 am


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

