The Mockingbird

Request Line

with 5 comments

Thanks to Tito and Torgen for pointing out the following quote from Barajas about tonight’s Ryan debacle:

“I felt like the second pitch to me was a ball off the plate and he called it a strike. That’s fine, I’m OK with that,” said Barajas. “Then I see B.J. hit the same spot and it’s called a ball. It’s a little frustrating.

“What you don’t like to see is the strike zone change and for me, from my at-bat to going behind the plate and working it seemed like it changed a little in the ninth.”

Here are all the pitches from Felix Hernandez tonight. If anything, he got hosed a few times (not unusual for a power pitcher). The pitch f/x system went a little wonky for the first pitch of Barajas’ at bat, but the second pitch that he refers to was a rulebook strike 9.75 inches off the plate (the edge of the strike zone is 10), and would even be called another inch or two outside usually because it’s right at the belt. I guess pitches look a little different from the batter’s box, because that was not the same spot or a different zone from Beej’s in the ninth.

How depressing. I want someone to blame, #$@#$@#$!!!. Stupid technology.

Written by halejon

June 11, 2008 at 9:19 pm

Posted in Seriousness

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m tired of you not allowing us to blame the umpires. Come on man, I want to be irrational.

    Jessica

    June 12, 2008 at 12:28 am

  2. Jessica is on to something…

    =(

    navin vaswani

    June 12, 2008 at 1:22 am

  3. Hey, I said it too. You think it makes me happy to be a killjoy?? If it’s any consolation, last year I spent WEEKS on a research project for THT trying to show how many favourable calls the Redsox and Yankees were getting, and when it turned out the Jays actually topped both of them totally lost interest and quietly swept it under the rug…

    halejon

    June 12, 2008 at 1:41 am

  4. I wish I got to field requests other than “cease and desist”

    lloyd the ghostrunner

    June 12, 2008 at 3:39 am

  5. Yeah man, thanks for that. That was pretty cool. Stupid FX. In a related note, I hate all technology that involves the direct game of baseball ahem Instant Replay.

    For your next trick, could you measure the grittyness of Reed Johnson, Blue Jay and Reed Johnson, Cubby?

    Tito Toronto

    June 13, 2008 at 1:22 am


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

