The Mockingbird

Why You Read This Blog

with 6 comments

Give yourself a pat on the back as one of the comparatively few who don’t just wait for big media spoonfeed you Jays info. If you stuck to swimming in the slow and deep waters of the Jays main page, after reading the latest article on Jeremy Accardo, you’d be convinced that Jeremy Accardo has some sort of mental problem when he doesn’t want to throw his best pitch, and hitters are sitting on his fastball. (Now how much of a difference would that really make to your enjoyment of the game, baseball in general, life? Oh, shut up.)

Bastian has the “unreliable” part right, but of course us nerds know the rest is backwards. Accardo/Zaun are absolutely right at this point to be a little scared to use his splitter, because that’s the pitch every hit but one this year has come against, while his fastball is still beating hitters.

Not to dump on Bastian- how the heck is he supposed to know anything that the players or the manager won’t tell him? And I actually became a bit of a fan of his this past series. I got to watch it from the press box and invade the clubhouse (more on this later- you can read a gushing recap of the experience over at Baseball Digest Daily), and while there, eavesdropped on Bastian getting this quote:

“I’ve never been a guy to worry about myself,” Marcum said. “It’s more about the team. So if I go out there and do my job and we lost, then I don’t feel like I did my job. We’ve just got to move on.”

Pretty unremarkable, I know. But what impressed me was that Marcum actually stumbled around a little and repeated the line “I did my job” a few times. He was clearly trying to say that it didn’t bother him any more than the rest of the team that the offense didn’t come through just because he pitched a great game, but was happy to be pitching well and the bats would come around.

But that could easily have been taken out of context as “well at least I did my job unlike those jackasses”, which would have made for a spicier quote, a more interesting article, and potential team dissent. I was impressed that Bastian cleaned it up a little (and even went so far as to make Marcum sound like a hero, saying allowing one run was too many). I’m sure a few other Toronto journalists would have either been totally unaware how it sounded or happy to get an angle. (Kind of like them who would call 2 singles and a HBP a “disastrous inning” and a “major League letdown” just to use a cheap pun for the first time).

Anyway, back to Accardo- I got a question in the comments from Jesse about Accardo’s location against righties, so here’s a heat map from behind the plate:

Wow- even when he was effective in 2007, Accardo almost never came inside to right handed batters all season. No question that’s a great location (especially with a diving splitter), but you have to think eventually he’s going to have to keep hitters honest and stop them from diving out over the plate with some hard stuff on the hands.

That’s all for now- I’m on vacation until Thursday. Go Jays!

Written by halejon

April 11, 2008 at 11:33 pm

Posted in Seriousness

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One thing I notice–frequently–is that Cathal Kelly of the Star cuts off the less flattering part of the quote from Jays players/coaches when Blair puts it in. The Star sponsors the team–that 500 level season pack promo?–whereas the Globe doesn’t. Hrm, no wonder Blair feels no need to pull punchs.

    I went through J-school at Carleton and did a bit of reporting at my hometown paper one summer. I’m a left-leaning libertarian, so I always inserted homosexual double-entendres in every thing I wrote about the Conservative Party of Canada (as it was then known) that routinely slipped past my editor. Journos are people with opinions, prejudices and most importantly, employer expectations, and will write accordingly.

    Now, imagine what that means if you’re a Palestinian living in a Gaza hut with no electicity or water and rockets raining down on your village.

    Anyhoo, enjoy your work. Like Noam Chomsky, I get my news from about 57 different sources and try to read between the lines. Thanks for helping cut through the fog of bullshit.

    johnny was

    April 12, 2008 at 12:09 am

  2. I’m new to your blog. Like, been reading for two weeks now, new. Most definitely enjoying it. Got a subscription in the reader. Also read your column at Baseball Digest Daily, and it did not disappoint. That must have been one hell of an experience for you.

    Keep doing what you’re doing.

    Cheers,
    Navin

    Navin Vaswani

    April 12, 2008 at 12:57 am

  3. That’s interesting about Kelly, I never noticed that. Possibly because I never read the Star. It could also be just that Blair is a hardass.🙂

    That’s priceless- I was just reading about some copy editor doing something like that in the states, I’ll see if I can dig it up. There was a whole string of paragraphs that were pretty innocuous on their own, but used terms like “thrust deeply”, “quick spurt”, “firm behind”, etc, wayyyyyy too much to describe Republicans rallying against gay marriage.

    Oboy, you don’t want to get this pinko started on media bias. I highly recommend the (formerly Manchester) Guardian Weekly for international news if you haven’t checked it out yet.

    halejon

    April 12, 2008 at 1:08 am

  4. Thanks, Navin. Yeah, it was amazing. I can’t believe anyone gets paid to do that. Kind of like finding a want ad that reads “URGENT NEED FOR MALES TO DRINK BEER, WATCH TV AND TALK SHIT. Wait, I just ripped that joke off Gary Larson.

    halejon

    April 12, 2008 at 1:38 am

  5. Great post, Jon! I’ve highlighted it in an upcoming post on BB.

    hugo

    April 12, 2008 at 9:47 am

  6. Good shit, man.

    dustin parkes

    April 12, 2008 at 1:18 pm


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

