The Mockingbird

Do You Have What it Takes to be a Major League Hitter?

with 13 comments

Step 1: Forget about the years of training, knowledge, practice, physical fitness, visual acuity, genetics, etc. I’m talking pure mental synapse-firing capability.

Step 2: Go to this site and measure your reaction time.

Step 3: Post it in the comments.

Step 4: Realize that .200 is what most MLB hitters have to operate at.

Step 5: Slink back to the couch never again to criticize a player for freezing up on a 95 mph heater right over the plate/biting on a slider that ends up in the visitor’s dugout.

wells1.jpg

(That’s you. Looking stupid. Why didn’t you swing? Huh? It was right there. Right. Over. The. Plate. I could have hit that. Loser. We pay you enough to hit that pitch.)

  • Update: there’s something very similar here, except with cute graphics and it seems a lot easier. Now I can crack that .20 margin and hit about .900…with power, too! And I defy anyone to beat this Soco and Seven-influenced, not at all flukeage-related time of 0.04 seconds. Proof positive I could mash off Zumaya if I was just loaded all the time!!!

Written by halejon

October 1, 2007 at 5:59 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, a first try, post-shlitz-fueled 0.188 avg of 5. But wouldn’t a career in front of a computer and lifetime of video games bias just slightly? If AJs curve was working, I would probably have a higher likelyhood of soiling myself then getting a piece of it.

    mulliniks

    October 2, 2007 at 4:35 pm

  2. I used to play some and could get around consistently on 90 MPH fastballs.

    Breaking pitches? HAH! Those suckers are killers. Ever watch a ball literally fall out of your line of vision? Eye on ball … here is comes start the swing … um, where did it go? Oh, it’s being thrown back to the pitcher. I think I’ll go crawl under the dugout bench now and pray nobody saw that.

    Best Regards

    John

    Best Regards

    John

    John Brattain

    October 2, 2007 at 10:31 pm

  3. I can get around on high 80 fastballs no problem…as long as I start my swing roughly when the pitcher is taking the sign from the catcher.

    .188?! I wanna see this…I blame my lack of mouse, haven’t cracked .230 yet. It’s all that pong training!🙂

    halejon

    October 2, 2007 at 10:35 pm

  4. Oh that’s precious. A double sign-off. Thats what I get for staying up watching the Pads/Rox game.

    I think I’ll go lie down now.

    Best Regards

    John

    John Brattain

    October 2, 2007 at 10:38 pm

  5. You’re excused…that was the one of the greatest games of all time. Even if it did end with a stupid call.

    halejon

    October 2, 2007 at 10:41 pm

  6. I can hit 20 mph lobbed softballs. No problem.

    hroman

    October 3, 2007 at 1:49 pm

  7. reaction time is a very small component to hitting a 90MPH plus pitch. Bat speed is the real key, combined with hand eye coordination.

    Jim M

    October 5, 2007 at 3:39 pm

  8. Hence all that stuff I said to forget about – I just can’t even get close to the one thing you can scientifically measure on a computer, even if some other *cough* cheaters *cough* can…

    I would say it’s a fair component to hitting a pitch well, though. I’m pretty consistently .05 of a second off the big boys using this test. That about 7 feet on a 95 mph fastball until I could even start to think about putting my awesome bat speed to work. Not the only reason I can’t hit one, but enough to leave me significantly screwed.

    halejon

    October 5, 2007 at 4:04 pm

  9. my avg is 0.22 nut i hit a insane .174 once haven’t crack .200 other than that though

    mudie

    October 6, 2007 at 9:41 pm

  10. I’ve spent my entire life in front of a @#$@#$ computer screen and/or playing video games and I’m consistently at .250. I hate every one of you bastards. And I challenge you all to a game of drunken chess.

    halejon

    October 11, 2007 at 9:45 am

  11. I played college ball and I averaged .170, which I should be able to. We faced 2-3 guys in college throwing 95, needless to say they were drafted.

    James

    October 30, 2007 at 7:28 pm

  12. I’ve never seen 95. I really can’t imagine it, high 80’s is ridiculous enough. Where did you play in college?

    Anyone remember that thing at the Canadian Baseball Hall of fame that used lights to simulate pitches coming in? You’d think they could do a much better job now…I think that should be a prerequisite for anyone who watches baseball on TV. Would love to see how the knuckleball floats as well.

    halejon

    October 30, 2007 at 8:13 pm

  13. on the second timer i guessed and got exactly 0 seconds from what the thing said

    joey

    May 7, 2009 at 7:42 pm


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

