The Mockingbird

Quote of the season- Vote:

with 2 comments

Is it….

A) “Mac’s a big dork”. (Vernon Wells, August 20, 2007)

or

B) “I am a big dork”. (John McDonald, August 20, 2007)

I went to the Rogers Centre last night with my father (who hasn’t seen a game in a while), and was reminded of how amazing Mac is at SS when in response to his 4th inning web jem my dad jumped up, hollered an obscenity at the top of his lungs, clapped so hard he slapped himself in the face, lost control of his lower body which sent him toppling into the aisle, got back up, and then fell over again. When he finally came to and crawled back to his seat, he gave me a look like “why didn’t you TELL me baseball was done with special effects now”.

Honestly, I hardly noticed. I mean he was hardly on the outfield grass when he stretched full-out to dive, was not in any way falling backwards when he chucked the hail-mary towards first base, and only had the catcher to get running to first. I mean I guess it was kinda good. For a human.

capt0bdb3f8100294b80a00bc219b7b40ebcblue_jays_royals_baseball_moez108.jpg

Written by halejon

August 20, 2007 at 6:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I vote for A! Ahh man I love that quote

    Julie

    August 21, 2007 at 3:13 am

  2. Dorks unite! Just like Eckstein, absolutely my favorite kind of player- guys who have absolutely no genetic reason to be on the same field as the best athletes in the world but somehow manage to scratch out a successful career by working their brains off.

    halejon

    August 22, 2007 at 6:40 am


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

