The Mockingbird

The J-Train’s Final Stop

with one comment

If there was ever a chance that Towers was actually going to be traded, last night sealed the deal. Not only did Josh pitch much better than his line of 4 runs in 5.1 innings would suggest (thanks, Tallet), but he ripped the entire team and coaching staff after losing the game.

“We just gave the game away. Personally, that’s what I think,” Towers said. “Today was just a game that I felt we were in complete control of and we should’ve won and we didn’t. All around, it just wasn’t a great game played by us.

“I just don’t think that we consistently put ourselves in positions to make plays ahead of time,” he continued. “I don’t think we were heads up. I don’t think we consistently show up as a coaching staff and as a team every day, and I think it shows sometimes.”

m070841a.jpg

Are you kidding me?? Our marginal fifth starter, fresh off a season that would make most grown men put a bag over their head and move to a country that had never heard of this baez-boll you speak of, is preaching about consistency, calling out the defence (although only 8 other pitchers in the league can match his 3 errors this season) whining that he was on a short (90 pitches) leash, and blasting our bullpen for allowing 2 runs in 4 innings? What happened the hemming, hawing, a-couple-of-baserunners-just-broke-my brain-but-I’m-happy-to-be-in-the-bullpen-as-long-as-I’m-on-the-team Josh?

captae9c9aab07924c618082a26aaf6aa504blue_jays_yankees_baseball_nyy103.jpg

A month of decent starts and now he’s kicking ass and taking names. That game ticked the heck out of me, too, but I did the emotionally healthy thing and burnt my Jays jersey to a crisp on an impromptu mound Damaso Garcia style. Pissing on everyone else to the media is for whiners and, uh…above-average players. So I’m calling the shot- JT is out the door, for a bag of doughnuts if need be.

Written by halejon

July 28, 2007 at 5:55 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] from calling out his team: “We just gave the game away. Personally, that’s what I think,” Towers said. […]


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

