The Mockingbird

The J-Train’s Second Stop

with 6 comments

It’s a good thing that Josh is heading back to the rotation. Obviously whatever he was huffing out there while we declined to use him for weeks at a time has started to erode his already-fragile brain:

“I liked the reliever role a lot,” Towers said. “I fell in love with it for some reason. I think it’s the preparation of being ready every day.”

What, you LIKED warming up all the time (mostly when our hitters needed to be terrified into tacking on a few insurance runs) but never coming in to pitch?

“There were many times I wanted to ask, ‘What’s my role?’ or, ‘Can I pitch more?'” Towers said. “But it’s not really my job to do that. We have games to win, and I’m just happy I was able to be successful when I was able to pitch.”

Ummm…you were terrible out of the bullpen, Josh. You allowed a run an inning and at least 1 HR your first three appearances and then we “lost” your number. Ok, you got better. But your ERA was still over 6 out there. Having a winning record doesn’t count- we only put you in that game because we thought it, like all the others, was hopelessly out of reach either way.

I don’t feel any added pressure,” Towers shrugged of the Jays’ history of having little patience for even one bad outing. “I feel I pitched well out of the bullpen. That’s why if they have a short leash or we don’t score any runs, or whatever the (crap) was that went on in the past, it’s irrelevant, because I can relieve now. I can just go out and pitch.”

I think what he’s saying here is it wouldn’t really bother him if he got shelled and was sent back to the bullpen. Because he likes it out there. And he did so well. And he still has half a can of paint to inhale. That is NOT the optimistic “ready to go, skip!” sound bite we were hoping for there, Josh…

Written by halejon

June 11, 2007 at 2:47 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why do I picture Josh down the road giving inspirational talks to children entitled: “back of the rotation….back of the bullpen”.

    Dan

    June 11, 2007 at 3:43 pm

  2. Lmao Dan. This dude needs to improve himself so he can be dominant (like under 2.5 era i guess) and then he has to learn to have that “I wana strike all these dudes out” mentality. With his newfound skills and improved attitude he’ll be a far greater pitcher. He’ll be more agressive and he’ll be a better value as a pitcher.

    Jamichael Oxley

    June 11, 2007 at 3:52 pm

  3. Where’s he going to find these skills?? It would take about a 16 mph gain on his fastball to become a dominant strikeout pitcher, and that’s just plain ridiculous…

    halejon

    June 11, 2007 at 5:09 pm

  4. Wait a minute. Perhaps Jamichel is in on the AJ Burnett school of thought. I didn’t know he’d opened a pitching school?? The:

    “I wana strike all these dudes out” mentality.”

    I thought you already covered the perils of that theory of pitching here:

    https://bjays.wordpress.com/2007/04/10/burn-on/

    Though if the J-Train did find an extra 16mph in the bag, heck he’d be new Joel Zumaya. Maybe Josh just needs to get on the Guitar Hero workout regime and streghten those pitching muscles.

    Dan

    June 11, 2007 at 5:42 pm

  5. I can see the promotional spot now…

    “Hello, I’m A.J. Burnett. Do you want to win? Or do you want to HUMILIATE your opponents? If you’re ready to sacrifice mere results for the fist-pumping awesomeness of throwing a 3-2 pitch with the bases loaded that says ‘I own your family’, then you need my instructional tapes NOW. Starting with Volume 1: ‘How to lead the league in K’s AND HR’s’, I’ll guide you through what it takes to make 55 million dollars with a .500 lifetime record…”

    halejon

    June 11, 2007 at 8:03 pm

  6. Hahahaha…….That’s great material. Do you think we could fit it all on a sign to take to the park the next time he pitches?

    Dan

    June 11, 2007 at 8:49 pm


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

