The Mockingbird

My Tongue is Sore From All This Biting

with 3 comments

I don’t want become one of those fans who whine after losing 2 in a row, but I have to get this off my chest. Besides the Frasor flameout (I can deal- we know he’s no B.J. or really a 2-ish ERA guy) or the series of bizzareitudes already mentioned on battersbox, with one out in the 10th we let Michael Young stroll basically uncontested to third base with one out. That is a HUGE stolen base. It leads to us pitching around/intentionally walking Sammy Sosa to load the bases because while his average this year is a dismal .244, he was made for sacrifice flies. Which leads to Tallet having to groove a fastball on a 3-2 count to a dead-red fastball hitter in Hank Blalock for said sacrifice fly and the loss. Tallet barely looked at Young before the pitch he took off on, and the infielders weren’t even close! The runner is only going there if he’s 95% certain that he can make it, but I’d bet the farm on that one. There wasn’t even the thought of a throw or the futile hand raising before thinking better of it.

 Oh yeah, and in the 9th they put the shift on for Teixeira, let Young take 2nd on defensive indifference, and then took the shift off. Ok, we were just playing hard to get- we really DO care.😉

Written by halejon

April 29, 2007 at 4:55 am

Posted in Seriousness

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

    Although to add: Frasor was certianly throwing grapefruits up there. Yet, Gibby brings Tallet into the game AFTER an opportunity to play the lefty-lefty matchup with Blalock.

    If your thought is “he doesn’t get this guy out, I’m bringing in someone else,” you’ve got to play the percentages.

    But hindsight is overrated.

    hroman

    April 29, 2007 at 4:22 pm

  2. I was scratching my head over that one too…though I think you mean Wilkerson (or for that matter, Catalonatto). Gibby usually plays the matchup game to a fault. I think he’s trying to show faith in the bullpen fill-ins (like he did with Marcum), but after loading the bases with some terrible pitches and drilling a guy, I don’t care if he saved my life in ‘nam, I’m going pen.

    I think that third strike to Young that he didn’t get broke Frasor’s brain.

    halejon

    April 29, 2007 at 5:06 pm

  3. Hell, I thought that game was sealed on Sals HBP. You got to admire a guy who leans in on anything close. After 15 years of catching, do you think you have any feeling left in your limbs?

    Dan

    April 30, 2007 at 2:50 pm


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

