The Mockingbird

A Ray of Hope

with 5 comments

There hasn’t been much positive to say for the Toronto Blue Jays lately- not only have injuries to two key members of their lineup sent the offence that exploded out of the gate crashing into a serious slump, but after B.J. Ryan joined Brandon League on the disabled list, the effects were felt almost immediately. Back to back late leads were coughed up by the bullpen, sending the team into a five-game losing streak and an embarrassing sweep at the hands of the Baltimore Orioles.

However, in every steaming, festering pile of vomitous refuse there is a patch of brighter green, and the first encouraging sign of resurgence came for the Jays came in final third of last night’s loss to the Orioles. In his first appearance after being called up to fill Ryan’s spot in the bullpen, sinkerballer Jamie Vermilyea came on in the 6th. The result? 3 hits, no walks and zero runs scored.

jamie.jpg

After the game, Jamie was a spark of excitement in an otherwise sombre clubhouse. “Well, you know, I was jumping out there, my heart was beating so fast to finally really be in the big leagues. At first I was scared that I was going to mess up and be sent down, but then I calmed down and did my thing and it worked out better than I could have imagined. Man, I can’t believe it, I’m really here- wow, I’m so jazzed. This is by far the best day of my life. I know we’ve been going through a tough time lately, but I’m just glad to be able to get the job done and help the team out and I’m confident we can turn things around and I hope I can be a big part of that.”

Whatever the future may bring for the Toronto Blue Jays, here is one young man who is off to a great start to his season- hopefully he can keep his 0.00 major league ERA intact for a long, long, time.

Written by halejon

April 23, 2007 at 3:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Let us not forget the way that man got himself noticed on June 28th, 2004:

    http://www.battersbox.ca/article.php?story=20040629121725999

    He tossed a 7 inning perfect game for AA New Hamshire. He’s got good stuff and should be fine if they ever give him a chance to get used to life in the show.

    Dan

    April 23, 2007 at 3:27 pm

  2. Oh and I looked everywhere, but I couldn’t find a working box score for that fateful game.

    Dan

    April 23, 2007 at 3:28 pm

  3. So where’s the blog post on this interesting little tidbit:

    JOSH PHELPS
    Fielding Stats:

    SEASON TEAM POS G GS INN TC PO A E DP PB SB CS RF FPCT
    2007 New York Yankees C 1 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00 .000

    I’d just like to point out that Josh has now caught 41 error-free innings in the Majors (the previous 40 in 2000 + 2001). AND has caught 2 of 4 base stealers. Lets see how this unfolds.

    Dan

    April 23, 2007 at 3:49 pm

  4. Looks like Vermilyea will keep that ERA for awhile…looks like he was sent to the minors for Brian Tallet.

    Chris

    April 23, 2007 at 3:57 pm

  5. The funny thing is that just after that perfect game, he was “demoted” to the bullpen. So I guess he’s used to this sort of thing…

    halejon

    April 23, 2007 at 4:53 pm


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Don’t jump! |… on Hudson + Lester = 4ever
halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

