The Mockingbird

Halladay Heats Up

with 5 comments

I sent an email to Cathal Kelly of the Star the other day, applauding him for letting numbers into an argument without getting huffy and defensive about it. To my amazement, he read, responded, and then decided to post my email (sans the gushing) on the Star’s blog.

Unfortunately, it seems that the Star’s blogging software hasn’t quite been dragged into the modern internet of era of pictures and all that, so I just look like a bit of a self-promoting blowhard with nothing to back my claims up. The shoe fits, but here’s the pretty pictures to go along with my claims that:

  • Halladay’s sinker drops less in the heat:

  • Halladay throws more strikes in cold weather:

Written by halejon

April 29, 2008 at 9:42 pm

Posted in Seriousness

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] to prove that I wasn’t making this stuff up, here’s the Doc’s movement on the [...]

  2. I’m having a simple moment and doing something wrong in reading these graphs.

    The 2nd graph, to me, shows him throwing more strikes as the temp goes up. What am I doing wrong? (His strike % goes up)

    And I also am confusing myself on the 1st graph which again to me looks to say the opposite of what you’re doing… I don’t think I’m reading the movement graph right. Can you clarify it a bit? It looks like when the temp. is coldest his sinker is up 5 – 6 inch range of downward movement while when it’s the warmest it’s in the 4 – 5 range.

    Please help! You do fantastic work here. I’m sure once I really start to understand it will be even more fantastic to me.

    HalifaxJaysFan

    April 30, 2008 at 7:51 am

  3. Ok, for the second graph that is how it’s supposed to read. Halladay is in the strike zone more often, and he gets slightly more swings and misses. I combined them into one graph for the sake of dramatic effect.

    The first one I was trying to be less confusing and I guess I ended up being more. That’s the amount of sink/drop/whatever, as opposed to where the ball is actually going. I flipped the movement because I figured if I showed a graph going downwards then people who hadn’t seen a movement graph before would wonder why I was saying it was dropping less.

    The scale for the second one is actually compared to his normal fastball. So in the coldest weather it usually sinks about 5-6 inches, and then in the heat that’s only 4-5. I think that probably has something to do with the density of the air, because you see the same sort of things happen to big breaking balls.

    Otherwise, glad you like. Thanks for stopping by…

    halejon

    April 30, 2008 at 1:33 pm

  4. Late arrival, but still… i think what HalifaxJaysFan had issue with is that in your blog post, you write “Halladay’s sinker drops less in the cold”, but your graph shows that the sinker drops less in the heat. A typo maybe?

    Steve

    May 2, 2008 at 7:06 am

  5. Oh, right….THAT’S just a typo. On the Star Blog I say the exact opposite. Thanks!

    halejon

    May 2, 2008 at 10:55 am


Leave a Reply

RSS Recent Posts

Recent Comments

halejon on Blue Jays Blockbuster —…
Happ’s Grasp O… on New Blue Jay J.A. Happ is Over…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on More on the Wind vs. Dickey…
The Daily Duce: Tues… on Does closing the dome help R.A…
My Toronto Blue Jays… on Does closing the dome help R.A…

Blogroll

RSS bluejays mlb

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

